Randy Says I’m Missing the News!

I was sitting in bed on a leisurely Saturday morning, sipping a cup of Irish breakfast tea and reading my brand new copy of Dottie Angel’s modern fairy tale about Life at Mossy Shed … sounds good so far, doesn’t it?

The Boss was also in deep meditation, when the ringing of the phone disrupted our peaceful existence.

I glanced at the display screen and noticed a 1-800-number — telemarketers for sure! I had recently registered my phone number on the National Do Not Call List (DNCL), but there are some exceptions to who can still call you, such as registered charities and newspapers selling subscriptions among others. Why are some still allowed to call? Ask the stars!

However, I was in a friendly Saturday morning mood and decided to answer the phone. Very politely I explained to the person at the other end that I would like my number to be taken off the calling list.  It was the Toronto Sun, offering me a free subscription to their newspaper. How kind, but no thanks! This took place at 10:33am.

Another sip of hot tea and back to Life at Mossy Shed … at exactly 10:47am the phone rang again and to my surprise, it was the same number. Curious as to why this would happen, I answered the phone. This time, the telemarketer was Randy and he too hoped to add my name to the subscription list of the Toronto Sun.

With a kind voice, I explained to dear Randy that I had requested only a few minutes earlier to be taken off the Toronto Sun’s calling list. Now Randy was a clever guy: he thanked me for being so polite and understanding about the whole ‘mishap’, and while he was in the process of taking my name off said calling list, he wondered if he might not send a free copy of the Toronto Sun to my home address?

Well now, I took a deep breath and explained to dear Randy that I was getting my news online and had no need to receive a paper copy, free of charge or otherwise. But Randy had a quick comeback for my mislead state of mind: he proceeded to explain that by not getting a paper copy, I would miss important news! Oh my! He even went out of his way to provide an example how the ‘Occupy’ news coverage in the paper version of The Toronto Sun was superior to online news reports … well, that’s as far as I could tolerate Randy’s enlightenment … he had used up all of my Saturday morning niceness and I confronted him shamelessly with the big ‘E’ word, after which he rather quickly said his good-byes and wished me a lovely day!

What exactly did I tell him, you might ask?

I’m an ENVIRONMENTALIST and do not want to see trees cut down and paper wasted!!!!

Nearly 4 billion trees worldwide are cut down each year for paper, representing about 35 percent of all harvested trees.

Note: Dottie Angel’s book is made from paper too … yes, I know, but it came in the mail lovingly wrapped in recycled glossy flyer paper and it has hand stitching on the front cover … it’s a one of a kind and I do have a soft spot for unique books like that. It is also written by a woman who spends her days transforming old into new. I am happy to purchase a book from a kindred spirit like Tif Fussell aka Dottie Angel!

To peruse another blog on the topic of ‘paperless’ news, see Franke James’ essay: ‘Kicking my 30-year habit’

About gamppart

I'm a Visual Artist, Environmentalist, and Art Educator. My areas of creative expression include acrylic painting, mixed media and mosaic art. I especially like working with broken china, which allows me to use discarded, second-hand materials. I'm fond of textures, colours, and organic forms. Cats and chickens are my muse.
This entry was posted in Environment, Going Green and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

