I Was a Favourites Bar Junkie …

until I met my new friend Google Reader. Yes, I was aware of RSS feeds … who could miss the orange icon on blogs and websites? But I thought it was like another piece of toast putting crumbs in my little cyberspace routine. I was at ease with my old gal Favourites Bar. We liked hanging out on a daily basis, clicking away happily to follow new and interesting postings on blogs and websites.

Some may ask: ‘What’s wrong with that?’

Nothing really, because it does allow you to get from A to B, from B to C, back to A, on to D, to E, and so forth … click, click, clickety-click!  *Sigh* I often found it very tedious to click my way through cyberspace. It took time to go hither and yonder while I stared glassy-eyed at my computer screen for each new page to load.

Now here’s the thing: most of my friends don’t use a Reader (yet), so I was surfing among the non-converted. There is a reluctance to sign up for yet another application that requires a username and password – it’s the Twitter Facebook Email Online Banking Password Overload Syndrome!

However, I also have a few tech savvy friends who are up-to-date on anything cyber-related. So I decided to give Google Reader a try:

Why did I wait so long, I asked myself?

I created a Google account and this gave me access to Google Reader and other Google products. I set up the Reader in less than 30 minutes and organized my subscriptions in folders for easy access. Nothing new, really, putting things into folders … but very practical to keep up with my daily dose of what’s new in the world of art, the environment, and some of my regular news stations. In my news folder, I follow the CBC, BBC, and the German Tagesschau. This is a cropped screen shot of my Google reader home page.

What I like about Google Reader:

  • No software to download
  • Easy to set up and navigate
  • Allows me to switch from list view (less space) to expanded view
  • By creating a Google account, I have easy access to Google Reader, gmail, and Google+ with the same username/password
  • Google Reader lets me email interesting articles to my friends and share with Google+, Facebook and Twitter
  • Love the keyboard shortcuts; less clicking with the mouse!

When setting up the Google Reader, the most important thing is to keep subscriptions organized in folders or you will become …

cartoon from www.weblogcartoons.com

Cartoon by Dave WalkerWe Blog Cartoons.

About gamppart

I'm a Visual Artist, Environmentalist, and Art Educator. My areas of creative expression include acrylic painting, mixed media and mosaic art. I especially like working with broken china, which allows me to use discarded, second-hand materials. I'm fond of textures, colours, and organic forms. Cats and chickens are my muse.
This entry was posted in Google Reader, RSS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

