My New Online Art Gallery

A fresh new look for an artist’s website is just as important as the occasional living room makeover. If you sit on the same sofa for 10 years, it may become a bit worn and in need of a new cover, to say the least …

While I’m not particularly interested in following the latest trends in web design, my first online gallery was created in the 1990’s and started to appear outdated. Styles change continuously and it’s important to choose a design you can be happy with for a number of years. After all, most of us don’t have the funds to pay for a re-design on an annual basis.

The challenge for an artist lies in finding a good web designer: someone who understands your style and vision. I am fortunate to know such a person. Diana Rodriguez has an artistic background and it comes natural for her to combine good design with functionality.

I envisioned a beautiful online gallery space with a touch of elegance; a place where I showcase my love for swirly, organic lines, textures, and bold colour schemes, all found in my selection of paintings, mixed media, and mosaics. Diana successfully designed a feel and look for my gallery that complements my work. In the end, it is important that an artist’s website reflects the intended image.

Websites are all about visual communication and it should be easy for visitors to navigate the site.  Like the sofa in your living room — if the cushions are saggy, cluttered and uncomfortable, chances are your visitors will not return!

Here’s a screen shot of my online gallery: gamppart.com

About gamppart

I'm a Visual Artist, Environmentalist, and Art Educator. My areas of creative expression include acrylic painting, mixed media and mosaic art. I especially like working with broken china, which allows me to use discarded, second-hand materials. I'm fond of textures, colours, and organic forms. Cats and chickens are my muse.
This entry was posted in Art, Creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My New Online Art Gallery

Leave a Reply

