Twitter for Artists

Or should I say twartists? Back in the 90’s, it was a great thing for artists to showcase their work in an online gallery. I had my first website designed in 1994 and was mighty proud of it. These days, linking a website or blog to the social media network is just as important.

For the longest time, I was reluctant to explore what Twitter had to offer. My first reaction was similar to that of my circle of friends: “Why would I want to tell the public what I’m up to every minute of the day?”

Well, I must admit … I just didn’t know how to use Twitter properly. Now that I have learned the lingo, I know the difference between #hashtags and @usernames, and how to write down a thought in no more than 140 characters. The true value of Twitter becomes more apparent to me as I understand its potential as a microblogging/networking/news-feeding platform that provides information and connections about my life’s passion: visual arts and the environment.

A survival guide for Twitter novices is the Twitter Dictionary: A Guide to Understanding Twitter Lingo by Vangie Beal. 

Should you still be on the fence about Twitter, I suggest reading the blog articles by Lori McNee, an artist who is ranked one of the Top 100 Most Powerful Women on Twitter. Follow her tweets @lorimcneeartist — she provides tons of useful information on a wide range of topics related to art. Her site is like a Wikipedia for artists!

Here are some of Lori’s posts that helped me through the Twitter-jitter:

12 Compelling Reasons Why Artists Should Use Twitter

How To Reach Beyond Your Niche on Twitter

Top 10 Ways to Improve Your Twitter Image & Following

14 Art Business Tips from the Top Pros on Twitter

Finally, a bit of creative humour about Twitter — a cartoon titled “Zigfried & Gingerale”, based on my two feline friends. Zigfried & Gingerale

About gamppart

I'm a Visual Artist, Environmentalist, and Art Educator. My areas of creative expression include acrylic painting, mixed media and mosaic art. I especially like working with broken china, which allows me to use discarded, second-hand materials. I'm fond of textures, colours, and organic forms. Cats and chickens are my muse.
This entry was posted in Art, Creativity, Twitter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

